Tags

, , , , , , ,

Cross-posted from the IPv6 Secure blog.

It’s been a while since I last posted an update, largely because the project’s been on hold for the last six weeks. Basically the second year of the course was mainly about theoretical stuff, like policies, compliance, management, legislation, etc., and the third year got very technical (and practical) from day one. And it’s not a bad thing either, as I expect any infosec professional to have at least some experience and a decent understanding of enterprise network and server configuration. So, that’s my excuse.

Roughly a month ago I had the basic secure messaging client application working, and hopefully I can get that communicating with the network. Later it can be modified for audio and video comms, and perhaps even a social network could be built around it someday.

Getting hold of the equipment for the development stage won’t be a problem, as I initially expected. I now have a carrier grade routing system at my disposal, which means the countermeasures can be tested with a collection of Cisco 2800 routers, an Adtran Atlas 550 Integrated Access Device (IAD), and TCP and IP filtering layers. The Adtran is what’s going to simulate the ISP and Internet.

Routing system, minus the cabling

Routing system, minus the cabling

By the end of January 2013, the whole thing should simulate multiple clients communicating between networks, tunneling their comms through whatever interception and filtering exists between them. It’ll be a form of P2P communication, but there’ll be nothing to mark it out to ISPs as such.

Before that happens, I’ll need to somehow configure the routing system, which must be done via serial ports and Telnet sessions, which is apparently quite easy.

